1 (edited by victor 2011-03-08 09:00:05)

Topic: 3 extensions of functionality

Hi Ivan (I hope I am not wrong about the name)
I am an applied math student, and I use Graph for complicated functions.  I have 3 major suggestions, that can make "Graph" very  powerful

***When graphing function of x (menu: "insert function f(x)"), there two very useful features:
1. Setting a custom number of points, at which to build points on the graph.
2. In addition to  'lines', 'automatic', you can also set "dots', when doing the graph.
----So, my suggestion (and kind ask) is to implement both of the above options to in "Insert relation". (Which I guess could be done by adding similar buttons in the pop-up menu, when setting the relation?>>)
(1) is important because there are cases of complicated functions, when the default precision is not enough, and cases, where, on the contrary, the graphing takes too long and one wants a quick impression of the graph.
(2) is important,  because there are cases when the "lines/automatic" option draws lines where it should not (i.e., case of two asymptotically close curves.
As some examples of troublesome functions , please see http://www.peda.com/grafeq/gallery/rogue.html (Though, overall,  GraphEq is more limited than Graph) 

***3. Currently, only relations between x and y can be written in implicit form. Often, parametric equations are given as F(x,y,t)=0, and you cannot find x(t), y(t) explicitly. Could you add such option in the drop-menu of "Insert function meny?" (and for polar function wouldn't harm, but there one can resort to relation F(x,y)=0...).